ING New York City Marathon – My New Personal Best

UntitledING New York City Marathon in 2013 was special for multiple reasons. First, it was 1 year after the ING NYC Marathon 2012 got cancelled in the aftermath of the Hurricane Sandy. Second, the race was dedicated to those affected during the Boston Marathon bombings of April 19, 2013. To commemorate the victims of the tragedy, most of the runners wore blue ribbons.  However, on a more positive note, it became my favourite and the best run marathon race so far.

To take part in this point to point race, in the early morning of November 3rd, 2013 I started my journey to the start village in State Island. From riding the train completely full of marathon runners, taking the ferry past the Statue of Liberty, to traveling the last leg of the journey by bus, I was excited to start running. I wanted to finish the marathon in 3 hours and 45 minutes and positioned myself conveniently close to the pacemaker for this particular finish time.

At the start line we listened to the Star-Spangled Banner before the cannon blast to give the start to the race and Frank Sinatra’s New York, New York. I started climbing the Verrazano-Narrows Bridge. Once down the bridge, in no other race have I seen so many spectators. In addition, having family and friends was simply exceptional.

The ING New York City Marathon course covered all five boroughs of New York City: Staten Island, Brooklyn, Queens, Bronx and Manhattan. I ran over the Queensboro Bridge, along the First and the Fifth Avenues and finished the marathon in the Central Park. Around the corner from the finish line I caught up with and took over the same pacemaker I started the race with and crossed the line in 3 hours 42 minutes and 37 seconds.

ING NYC Marathon Finish LineMarathon Flag and Finish

Leave a Reply

